June 6 (Daily Scripture)

Third Day of Pentecost,
Fast Day,
Tone: ԲԿ

Genesis 8:6-11
Wisdom 1:5-7
Acts 13:1-5
John 1:29-34
Romans 1:18-25
Matthew 8:5-13
Matthew 3:16-4:2

Genesis 8:6-11
[6] At the end of forty days Noah opened the window of the ark which he had made,
[7] and sent forth a raven; and it went to and fro until the waters were dried up from the earth.
[8] Then he sent forth a dove from him, to see if the waters had subsided from the face of the ground;
[9] but the dove found no place to set her foot, and she returned to him to the ark, for the waters were still on the face of the whole earth. So he put forth his hand and took her and brought her into the ark with him.
[10] He waited another seven days, and again he sent forth the dove out of the ark;
[11] and the dove came back to him in the evening, and lo, in her mouth a freshly plucked olive leaf; so Noah knew that the waters had subsided from the earth.

Wisdom 1:5-7
[5] For a holy and disciplined spirit will flee from deceit,
and will rise and depart from foolish thoughts,
and will be ashamed at the approach of unrighteousness.
[6] For wisdom is a kindly spirit and
will not free a blasphemer from the guilt of his words;
because God is witness of his inmost feelings,
and a true observer of his heart, and a hearer of his tongue.
[7] Because the Spirit of the Lord has filled the world,
and that which holds all things together knows what is said;

Acts 13:1-5
[1] Now in the church at Antioch there were prophets and teachers, Barnabas, Simeon who was called Niger, Lucius of Cyre’ne, Man’a-en a member of the court of Herod the tetrarch, and Saul.
[2] While they were worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, “Set apart for me Barnabas and Saul for the work to which I have called them.”
[3] Then after fasting and praying they laid their hands on them and sent them off.
[4] So, being sent out by the Holy Spirit, they went down to Seleu’cia; and from there they sailed to Cyprus.
[5] When they arrived at Sal’amis, they proclaimed the word of God in the synagogues of the Jews. And they had John to assist them.

John 1:29-34
[29] The next day he saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!
[30] This is he of whom I said, `After me comes a man who ranks before me, for he was before me.’
[31] I myself did not know him; but for this I came baptizing with water, that he might be revealed to Israel.”
[32] And John bore witness, “I saw the Spirit descend as a dove from heaven, and it remained on him.
[33] I myself did not know him; but he who sent me to baptize with water said to me, `He on whom you see the Spirit descend and remain, this is he who baptizes with the Holy Spirit.’
[34] And I have seen and have borne witness that this is the Son of God.”

Romans 1:18-25
[18] For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and wickedness of men who by their wickedness suppress the truth.
[19] For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them.
[20] Ever since the creation of the world his invisible nature, namely, his eternal power and deity, has been clearly perceived in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse;
[21] for although they knew God they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking and their senseless minds were darkened.
[22] Claiming to be wise, they became fools,
[23] and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images resembling mortal man or birds or animals or reptiles.
[24] Therefore God gave them up in the lusts of their hearts to impurity, to the dishonoring of their bodies among themselves,
[25] because they exchanged the truth about God for a lie and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, who is blessed for ever! Amen.

Matthew 8:5-13
[5] As he entered Caper’na-um, a centurion came forward to him, beseeching him
[6] and saying, “Lord, my servant is lying paralyzed at home, in terrible distress.”
[7] And he said to him, “I will come and heal him.”
[8] But the centurion answered him, “Lord, I am not worthy to have you come under my roof; but only say the word, and my servant will be healed.
[9] For I am a man under authority, with soldiers under me; and I say to one, `Go,’ and he goes, and to another, `Come,’ and he comes, and to my slave, `Do this,’ and he does it.”
[10] When Jesus heard him, he marveled, and said to those who followed him, “Truly, I say to you, not even in Israel have I found such faith.
[11] I tell you, many will come from east and west and sit at table with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven,
[12] while the sons of the kingdom will be thrown into the outer darkness; there men will weep and gnash their teeth.”
[13] And to the centurion Jesus said, “Go; be it done for you as you have believed.” And the servant was healed at that very moment.

Matthew 3:16-4:2
[16] And when Jesus was baptized, he went up immediately from the water, and behold, the heavens were opened and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove, and alighting on him;
[17] and lo, a voice from heaven, saying, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.”

Chapter 4
[1] Then Jesus was led up by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil.
[2] And he fasted forty days and forty nights, and afterward he was hungry.

The Revised Standard Version of the Bible is copyright © National Council of Churches of Christ in America

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.