June 5 (Daily Scripture)

Second Day of Pentecost,
Fast Day,
Tone: ԲՁ

Genesis 1:1-5
Proverbs 9:1-6
Acts 10:44-48
Matthew 3:16-4:2
Romans 1:1-17
Matthew 7:28-8:4
John 14:15-24

Genesis 1:1-5
[1] In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.
[2] The earth was without form and void, and darkness was upon the face of the deep; and the Spirit of God was moving over the face of the waters.
[3] And God said, “Let there be light”; and there was light.
[4] And God saw that the light was good; and God separated the light from the darkness.
[5] God called the light Day, and the darkness he called Night. And there was evening and there was morning, one day.

Proverbs 9:1-6
[1] Wisdom has built her house,
she has set up her seven pillars.
[2] She has slaughtered her beasts, she has mixed her wine,
she has also set her table.
[3] She has sent out her maids to call
from the highest places in the town,
[4] “Whoever is simple, let him turn in here!”
To him who is without sense she says,
[5] “Come, eat of my bread
and drink of the wine I have mixed.
[6] Leave simpleness, and live,
and walk in the way of insight.”

Acts 10:44-48
[44] While Peter was still saying this, the Holy Spirit fell on all who heard the word.
[45] And the believers from among the circumcised who came with Peter were amazed, because the gift of the Holy Spirit had been poured out even on the Gentiles.
[46] For they heard them speaking in tongues and extolling God. Then Peter declared,
[47] “Can any one forbid water for baptizing these people who have received the Holy Spirit just as we have?”
[48] And he commanded them to be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ. Then they asked him to remain for some days.

Matthew 3:16-4:2
[16] And when Jesus was baptized, he went up immediately from the water, and behold, the heavens were opened and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove, and alighting on him;
[17] and lo, a voice from heaven, saying, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.”

Chapter 4
[1] Then Jesus was led up by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil.
[2] And he fasted forty days and forty nights, and afterward he was hungry.

Romans 1:1-17
[1] Paul, a servant of Jesus Christ, called to be an apostle, set apart for the gospel of God
[2] which he promised beforehand through his prophets in the holy scriptures,
[3] the gospel concerning his Son, who was descended from David according to the flesh
[4] and designated Son of God in power according to the Spirit of holiness by his resurrection from the dead, Jesus Christ our Lord,
[5] through whom we have received grace and apostleship to bring about the obedience of faith for the sake of his name among all the nations,
[6] including yourselves who are called to belong to Jesus Christ;
[7] To all God’s beloved in Rome, who are called to be saints:
Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.
[8] First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you, because your faith is proclaimed in all the world.
[9] For God is my witness, whom I serve with my spirit in the gospel of his Son, that without ceasing I mention you always in my prayers,
[10] asking that somehow by God’s will I may now at last succeed in coming to you.
[11] For I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen you,
[12] that is, that we may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith, both yours and mine.
[13] I want you to know, brethren, that I have often intended to come to you (but thus far have been prevented), in order that I may reap some harvest among you as well as among the rest of the Gentiles.
[14] I am under obligation both to Greeks and to barbarians, both to the wise and to the foolish:
[15] so I am eager to preach the gospel to you also who are in Rome.
[16] For I am not ashamed of the gospel: it is the power of God for salvation to every one who has faith, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.
[17] For in it the righteousness of God is revealed through faith for faith; as it is written, “He who through faith is righteous shall live.”

Matthew 7:28-8:4
[28] And when Jesus finished these sayings, the crowds were astonished at his teaching,
[29] for he taught them as one who had authority, and not as their scribes.

Chapter 8
[1] When he came down from the mountain, great crowds followed him;
[2] and behold, a leper came to him and knelt before him, saying, “Lord, if you will, you can make me clean.”
[3] And he stretched out his hand and touched him, saying, “I will; be clean.” And immediately his leprosy was cleansed.
[4] And Jesus said to him, “See that you say nothing to any one; but go, show yourself to the priest, and offer the gift that Moses commanded, for a proof to the people.”

John 14:15-24
[15] “If you love me, you will keep my commandments.
[16] And I will pray the Father, and he will give you another Counselor, to be with you for ever,
[17] even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him; you know him, for he dwells with you, and will be in you.
[18] “I will not leave you desolate; I will come to you.
[19] Yet a little while, and the world will see me no more, but you will see me; because I live, you will live also.
[20] In that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you.
[21] He who has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me; and he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.”
[22] Judas (not Iscariot) said to him, “Lord, how is it that you will manifest yourself to us, and not to the world?”
[23] Jesus answered him, “If a man loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.
[24] He who does not love me does not keep my words; and the word which you hear is not mine but the Father’s who sent me.

The Revised Standard Version of the Bible is copyright © National Council of Churches of Christ in America

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.