June 1 (Daily Scripture)

Forty-seventh Day of Easter (Zadeeg),
Tone: ԴՁ

Luke 20:27-21:4
Acts 25:23-26-32
Jude 1:8-15
John 13:1-15
Matthew 22:15-46
Mark 12:35-44

Luke 20:27-21:4
[27] There came to him some Sadducees, those who say that there is no resurrection,
[28] and they asked him a question, saying, “Teacher, Moses wrote for us that if a man’s brother dies, having a wife but no children, the man must take the wife and raise up children for his brother.
[29] Now there were seven brothers; the first took a wife, and died without children;
[30] and the second
[31] and the third took her, and likewise all seven left no children and died.
[32] Afterward the woman also died.
[33] In the resurrection, therefore, whose wife will the woman be? For the seven had her as wife.”
[34] And Jesus said to them, “The sons of this age marry and are given in marriage;
[35] but those who are accounted worthy to attain to that age and to the resurrection from the dead neither marry nor are given in marriage,
[36] for they cannot die any more, because they are equal to angels and are sons of God, being sons of the resurrection.
[37] But that the dead are raised, even Moses showed, in the passage about the bush, where he calls the Lord the God of Abraham and the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob.
[38] Now he is not God of the dead, but of the living; for all live to him.”
[39] And some of the scribes answered, “Teacher, you have spoken well.”
[40] For they no longer dared to ask him any question.
[41] But he said to them, “How can they say that the Christ is David’s son?
[42] For David himself says in the Book of Psalms, `The Lord said to my Lord,
Sit at my right hand,
[43] till I make thy enemies a stool for thy feet.’
[44] David thus calls him Lord; so how is he his son?”
[45] And in the hearing of all the people he said to his disciples,
[46] “Beware of the scribes, who like to go about in long robes, and love salutations in the market places and the best seats in the synagogues and the places of honor at feasts,
[47] who devour widows’ houses and for a pretense make long prayers. They will receive the greater condemnation.”

Chapter 21
[1] He looked up and saw the rich putting their gifts into the treasury;
[2] and he saw a poor widow put in two copper coins.
[3] And he said, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put in more than all of them;
[4] for they all contributed out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all the living that she had.”

Acts 25:23-26-32
[23] So on the morrow Agrippa and Berni’ce came with great pomp, and they entered the audience hall with the military tribunes and the prominent men of the city. Then by command of Festus Paul was brought in.
[24] And Festus said, “King Agrippa and all who are present with us, you see this man about whom the whole Jewish people petitioned me, both at Jerusalem and here, shouting that he ought not to live any longer.
[25] But I found that he had done nothing deserving death; and as he himself appealed to the emperor, I decided to send him.
[26] But I have nothing definite to write to my lord about him. Therefore I have brought him before you, and, especially before you, King Agrippa, that, after we have examined him, I may have something to write.
[27] For it seems to me unreasonable, in sending a prisoner, not to indicate the charges against him.”

Chapter 26
[1] Agrippa said to Paul, “You have permission to speak for yourself.” Then Paul stretched out his hand and made his defense:
[2] “I think myself fortunate that it is before you, King Agrippa, I am to make my defense today against all the accusations of the Jews,
[3] because you are especially familiar with all customs and controversies of the Jews; therefore I beg you to listen to me patiently.
[4] “My manner of life from my youth, spent from the beginning among my own nation and at Jerusalem, is known by all the Jews.
[5] They have known for a long time, if they are willing to testify, that according to the strictest party of our religion I have lived as a Pharisee.
[6] And now I stand here on trial for hope in the promise made by God to our fathers,
[7] to which our twelve tribes hope to attain, as they earnestly worship night and day. And for this hope I am accused by Jews, O king!
[8] Why is it thought incredible by any of you that God raises the dead?
[9] “I myself was convinced that I ought to do many things in opposing the name of Jesus of Nazareth.
[10] And I did so in Jerusalem; I not only shut up many of the saints in prison, by authority from the chief priests, but when they were put to death I cast my vote against them.
[11] And I punished them often in all the synagogues and tried to make them blaspheme; and in raging fury against them, I persecuted them even to foreign cities.
[12] “Thus I journeyed to Damascus with the authority and commission of the chief priests.
[13] At midday, O king, I saw on the way a light from heaven, brighter than the sun, shining round me and those who journeyed with me.
[14] And when we had all fallen to the ground, I heard a voice saying to me in the Hebrew language, `Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me? It hurts you to kick against the goads.’
[15] And I said, `Who are you, Lord?’ And the Lord said, `I am Jesus whom you are persecuting.
[16] But rise and stand upon your feet; for I have appeared to you for this purpose, to appoint you to serve and bear witness to the things in which you have seen me and to those in which I will appear to you,
[17] delivering you from the people and from the Gentiles — to whom I send you
[18] to open their eyes, that they may turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me.’
[19] “Wherefore, O King Agrippa, I was not disobedient to the heavenly vision,
[20] but declared first to those at Damascus, then at Jerusalem and throughout all the country of Judea, and also to the Gentiles, that they should repent and turn to God and perform deeds worthy of their repentance.
[21] For this reason the Jews seized me in the temple and tried to kill me.
[22] To this day I have had the help that comes from God, and so I stand here testifying both to small and great, saying nothing but what the prophets and Moses said would come to pass:
[23] that the Christ must suffer, and that, by being the first to rise from the dead, he would proclaim light both to the people and to the Gentiles.”
[24] And as he thus made his defense, Festus said with a loud voice, “Paul, you are mad; your great learning is turning you mad.”
[25] But Paul said, “I am not mad, most excellent Festus, but I am speaking the sober truth.
[26] For the king knows about these things, and to him I speak freely; for I am persuaded that none of these things has escaped his notice, for this was not done in a corner.
[27] King Agrippa, do you believe the prophets? I know that you believe.”
[28] And Agrippa said to Paul, “In a short time you think to make me a Christian!”
[29] And Paul said, “Whether short or long, I would to God that not only you but also all who hear me this day might become such as I am — except for these chains.”
[30] Then the king rose, and the governor and Berni’ce and those who were sitting with them;
[31] and when they had withdrawn, they said to one another, “This man is doing nothing to deserve death or imprisonment.”
[32] And Agrippa said to Festus, “This man could have been set free if he had not appealed to Caesar.”

Jude 1:8-15
[8] Yet in like manner these men in their dreamings defile the flesh, reject authority, and revile the glorious ones.
[9] But when the archangel Michael, contending with the devil, disputed about the body of Moses, he did not presume to pronounce a reviling judgment upon him, but said, “The Lord rebuke you.”
[10] But these men revile whatever they do not understand, and by those things that they know by instinct as irrational animals do, they are destroyed.
[11] Woe to them! For they walk in the way of Cain, and abandon themselves for the sake of gain to Balaam’s error, and perish in Korah’s rebellion.
[12] These are blemishes on your love feasts, as they boldly carouse together, looking after themselves; waterless clouds, carried along by winds; fruitless trees in late autumn, twice dead, uprooted;
[13] wild waves of the sea, casting up the foam of their own shame; wandering stars for whom the nether gloom of darkness has been reserved for ever.
[14] It was of these also that Enoch in the seventh generation from Adam prophesied, saying, “Behold, the Lord came with his holy myriads,
[15] to execute judgment on all, and to convict all the ungodly of all their deeds of ungodliness which they have committed in such an ungodly way, and of all the harsh things which ungodly sinners have spoken against him.”

John 13:1-15
[1] Now before the feast of the Passover, when Jesus knew that his hour had come to depart out of this world to the Father, having loved his own who were in the world, he loved them to the end.
[2] And during supper, when the devil had already put it into the heart of Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, to betray him,
[3] Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into his hands, and that he had come from God and was going to God,
[4] rose from supper, laid aside his garments, and girded himself with a towel.
[5] Then he poured water into a basin, and began to wash the disciples’ feet, and to wipe them with the towel with which he was girded.
[6] He came to Simon Peter; and Peter said to him, “Lord, do you wash my feet?”
[7] Jesus answered him, “What I am doing you do not know now, but afterward you will understand.”
[8] Peter said to him, “You shall never wash my feet.” Jesus answered him, “If I do not wash you, you have no part in me.”
[9] Simon Peter said to him, “Lord, not my feet only but also my hands and my head!”
[10] Jesus said to him, “He who has bathed does not need to wash, except for his feet, but he is clean all over; and you are clean, but not every one of you.”
[11] For he knew who was to betray him; that was why he said, “You are not all clean.”
[12] When he had washed their feet, and taken his garments, and resumed his place, he said to them, “Do you know what I have done to you?
[13] You call me Teacher and Lord; and you are right, for so I am.
[14] If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet.
[15] For I have given you an example, that you also should do as I have done to you.

Matthew 22:15-46
[15] Then the Pharisees went and took counsel how to entangle him in his talk.
[16] And they sent their disciples to him, along with the Hero’di-ans, saying, “Teacher, we know that you are true, and teach the way of God truthfully, and care for no man; for you do not regard the position of men.
[17] Tell us, then, what you think. Is it lawful to pay taxes to Caesar, or not?”
[18] But Jesus, aware of their malice, said, “Why put me to the test, you hypocrites?
[19] Show me the money for the tax.” And they brought him a coin.
[20] And Jesus said to them, “Whose likeness and inscription is this?”
[21] They said, “Caesar’s.” Then he said to them, “Render therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.”
[22] When they heard it, they marveled; and they left him and went away.
[23] The same day Sad’ducees came to him, who say that there is no resurrection; and they asked him a question,
[24] saying, “Teacher, Moses said, `If a man dies, having no children, his brother must marry the widow, and raise up children for his brother.’
[25] Now there were seven brothers among us; the first married, and died, and having no children left his wife to his brother.
[26] So too the second and third, down to the seventh.
[27] After them all, the woman died.
[28] In the resurrection, therefore, to which of the seven will she be wife? For they all had her.”
[29] But Jesus answered them, “You are wrong, because you know neither the scriptures nor the power of God.
[30] For in the resurrection they neither marry nor are given in marriage, but are like angels in heaven.
[31] And as for the resurrection of the dead, have you not read what was said to you by God,
[32] `I am the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob’? He is not God of the dead, but of the living.”
[33] And when the crowd heard it, they were astonished at his teaching.
[34] But when the Pharisees heard that he had silenced the Sad’ducees, they came together.
[35] And one of them, a lawyer, asked him a question, to test him.
[36] “Teacher, which is the great commandment in the law?”
[37] And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.
[38] This is the great and first commandment.
[39] And a second is like it, You shall love your neighbor as yourself.
[40] On these two commandments depend all the law and the prophets.”
[41] Now while the Pharisees were gathered together, Jesus asked them a question,
[42] saying, “What do you think of the Christ? Whose son is he?” They said to him, “The son of David.”
[43] He said to them, “How is it then that David, inspired by the Spirit, calls him Lord, saying,
[44] `The Lord said to my Lord,
Sit at my right hand,
till I put thy enemies under thy feet’?
[45] If David thus calls him Lord, how is he his son?”
[46] And no one was able to answer him a word, nor from that day did any one dare to ask him any more questions.

Mark 12:35-44
[35] And as Jesus taught in the temple, he said, “How can the scribes say that the Christ is the son of David?
[36] David himself, inspired by the Holy Spirit, declared, `The Lord said to my Lord,
Sit at my right hand,
till I put thy enemies under thy feet.’
[37] David himself calls him Lord; so how is he his son?” And the great throng heard him gladly.
[38] And in his teaching he said, “Beware of the scribes, who like to go about in long robes, and to have salutations in the market places
[39] and the best seats in the synagogues and the places of honor at feasts,
[40] who devour widows’ houses and for a pretense make long prayers. They will receive the greater condemnation.”
[41] And he sat down opposite the treasury, and watched the multitude putting money into the treasury. Many rich people put in large sums.
[42] And a poor widow came, and put in two copper coins, which make a penny.
[43] And he called his disciples to him, and said to them, “Truly, I say to you, this poor widow has put in more than all those who are contributing to the treasury.
[44] For they all contributed out of their abundance; but she out of her poverty has put in everything she had, her whole living.”

The Revised Standard Version of the Bible is copyright © National Council of Churches of Christ in America

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.