May 19 (Daily Scripture)

Thirty-fourth Day of Easter (Zadeeg),
Tone: ԱԿ

Luke 13:22-35
Acts 19:21-40
I John 2:26-28
John 8:31-59
Matthew 15:21-28
Mark 8:1-9

Luke 13:22-35
[22] He went on his way through towns and villages, teaching, and journeying toward Jerusalem.
[23] And some one said to him, “Lord, will those who are saved be few?” And he said to them,
[24] “Strive to enter by the narrow door; for many, I tell you, will seek to enter and will not be able.
[25] When once the householder has risen up and shut the door, you will begin to stand outside and to knock at the door, saying, `Lord, open to us.’ He will answer you, `I do not know where you come from.’
[26] Then you will begin to say, `We ate and drank in your presence, and you taught in our streets.’
[27] But he will say, `I tell you, I do not know where you come from; depart from me, all you workers of iniquity!’
[28] There you will weep and gnash your teeth, when you see Abraham and Isaac and Jacob and all the prophets in the kingdom of God and you yourselves thrust out.
[29] And men will come from east and west, and from north and south, and sit at table in the kingdom of God.
[30] And behold, some are last who will be first, and some are first who will be last.”
[31] At that very hour some Pharisees came, and said to him, “Get away from here, for Herod wants to kill you.”
[32] And he said to them, “Go and tell that fox, `Behold, I cast out demons and perform cures today and tomorrow, and the third day I finish my course.
[33] Nevertheless I must go on my way today and tomorrow and the day following; for it cannot be that a prophet should perish away from Jerusalem.’
[34] O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, killing the prophets and stoning those who are sent to you! How often would I have gathered your children together as a hen gathers her brood under her wings, and you would not!
[35] Behold, your house is forsaken. And I tell you, you will not see me until you say, `Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!'”

Acts 19:21-40
[21] Now after these events Paul resolved in the Spirit to pass through Macedo’nia and Acha’ia and go to Jerusalem, saying, “After I have been there, I must also see Rome.”
[22] And having sent into Macedo’nia two of his helpers, Timothy and Eras’tus, he himself stayed in Asia for a while.
[23] About that time there arose no little stir concerning the Way.
[24] For a man named Deme’trius, a silversmith, who made silver shrines of Ar’temis, brought no little business to the craftsmen.
[25] These he gathered together, with the workmen of like occupation, and said, “Men, you know that from this business we have our wealth.
[26] And you see and hear that not only at Ephesus but almost throughout all Asia this Paul has persuaded and turned away a considerable company of people, saying that gods made with hands are not gods.
[27] And there is danger not only that this trade of ours may come into disrepute but also that the temple of the great goddess Ar’temis may count for nothing, and that she may even be deposed from her magnificence, she whom all Asia and the world worship.”
[28] When they heard this they were enraged, and cried out, “Great is Ar’temis of the Ephesians!”
[29] So the city was filled with the confusion; and they rushed together into the theater, dragging with them Ga’ius and Aristar’chus, Macedo’nians who were Paul’s companions in travel.
[30] Paul wished to go in among the crowd, but the disciples would not let him;
[31] some of the A’si-archs also, who were friends of his, sent to him and begged him not to venture into the theater.
[32] Now some cried one thing, some another; for the assembly was in confusion, and most of them did not know why they had come together.
[33] Some of the crowd prompted Alexander, whom the Jews had put forward. And Alexander motioned with his hand, wishing to make a defense to the people.
[34] But when they recognized that he was a Jew, for about two hours they all with one voice cried out, “Great is Ar’temis of the Ephesians!”
[35] And when the town clerk had quieted the crowd, he said, “Men of Ephesus, what man is there who does not know that the city of the Ephesians is temple keeper of the great Ar’temis, and of the sacred stone that fell from the sky?
[36] Seeing then that these things cannot be contradicted, you ought to be quiet and do nothing rash.
[37] For you have brought these men here who are neither sacrilegious nor blasphemers of our goddess.
[38] If therefore Deme’trius and the craftsmen with him have a complaint against any one, the courts are open, and there are proconsuls; let them bring charges against one another.
[39] But if you seek anything further, it shall be settled in the regular assembly.
[40] For we are in danger of being charged with rioting today, there being no cause that we can give to justify this commotion.”

I John 2:26-28
[26] I write this to you about those who would deceive you;
[27] but the anointing which you received from him abides in you, and you have no need that any one should teach you; as his anointing teaches you about everything, and is true, and is no lie, just as it has taught you, abide in him.
[28] And now, little children, abide in him, so that when he appears we may have confidence and not shrink from him in shame at his coming.

John 8:31-59
[31] Jesus then said to the Jews who had believed in him, “If you continue in my word, you are truly my disciples,
[32] and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.”
[33] They answered him, “We are descendants of Abraham, and have never been in bondage to any one. How is it that you say, `You will be made free’?”
[34] Jesus answered them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, every one who commits sin is a slave to sin.
[35] The slave does not continue in the house for ever; the son continues for ever.
[36] So if the Son makes you free, you will be free indeed.
[37] I know that you are descendants of Abraham; yet you seek to kill me, because my word finds no place in you.
[38] I speak of what I have seen with my Father, and you do what you have heard from your father.”
[39] They answered him, “Abraham is our father.” Jesus said to them, “If you were Abraham’s children, you would do what Abraham did,
[40] but now you seek to kill me, a man who has told you the truth which I heard from God; this is not what Abraham did.
[41] You do what your father did.” They said to him, “We were not born of fornication; we have one Father, even God.”
[42] Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I proceeded and came forth from God; I came not of my own accord, but he sent me.
[43] Why do you not understand what I say? It is because you cannot bear to hear my word.
[44] You are of your father the devil, and your will is to do your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, and has nothing to do with the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks according to his own nature, for he is a liar and the father of lies.
[45] But, because I tell the truth, you do not believe me.
[46] Which of you convicts me of sin? If I tell the truth, why do you not believe me?
[47] He who is of God hears the words of God; the reason why you do not hear them is that you are not of God.”
[48] The Jews answered him, “Are we not right in saying that you are a Samaritan and have a demon?”
[49] Jesus answered, “I have not a demon; but I honor my Father, and you dishonor me.
[50] Yet I do not seek my own glory; there is One who seeks it and he will be the judge.
[51] Truly, truly, I say to you, if any one keeps my word, he will never see death.”
[52] The Jews said to him, “Now we know that you have a demon. Abraham died, as did the prophets; and you say, `If any one keeps my word, he will never taste death.’
[53] Are you greater than our father Abraham, who died? And the prophets died! Who do you claim to be?”
[54] Jesus answered, “If I glorify myself, my glory is nothing; it is my Father who glorifies me, of whom you say that he is your God.
[55] But you have not known him; I know him. If I said, I do not know him, I should be a liar like you; but I do know him and I keep his word.
[56] Your father Abraham rejoiced that he was to see my day; he saw it and was glad.”
[57] The Jews then said to him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have you seen Abraham?”
[58] Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I am.”
[59] So they took up stones to throw at him; but Jesus hid himself, and went out of the temple.

Matthew 15:21-28
[21] And Jesus went away from there and withdrew to the district of Tyre and Sidon.
[22] And behold, a Canaanite woman from that region came out and cried, “Have mercy on me, O Lord, Son of David; my daughter is severely possessed by a demon.”
[23] But he did not answer her a word. And his disciples came and begged him, saying, “Send her away, for she is crying after us.”
[24] He answered, “I was sent only to the lost sheep of the house of Israel.”
[25] But she came and knelt before him, saying, “Lord, help me.”
[26] And he answered, “It is not fair to take the children’s bread and throw it to the dogs.”
[27] She said, “Yes, Lord, yet even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their masters’ table.”
[28] Then Jesus answered her, “O woman, great is your faith! Be it done for you as you desire.” And her daughter was healed instantly.

Mark 8:1-9
[1] In those days, when again a great crowd had gathered, and they had nothing to eat, he called his disciples to him, and said to them,
[2] “I have compassion on the crowd, because they have been with me now three days, and have nothing to eat;
[3] and if I send them away hungry to their homes, they will faint on the way; and some of them have come a long way.”
[4] And his disciples answered him, “How can one feed these men with bread here in the desert?”
[5] And he asked them, “How many loaves have you?” They said, “Seven.”
[6] And he commanded the crowd to sit down on the ground; and he took the seven loaves, and having given thanks he broke them and gave them to his disciples to set before the people; and they set them before the crowd.
[7] And they had a few small fish; and having blessed them, he commanded that these also should be set before them.
[8] And they ate, and were satisfied; and they took up the broken pieces left over, seven baskets full.
[9] And there were about four thousand people.

The Revised Standard Version of the Bible is copyright © National Council of Churches of Christ in America

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.