April 7, Annunciation to the Virgin Mary (Daily Scripture)

Song of Solomon 1:1-11
1 The Song of Songs, which is Solomon’s.
Colloquy of Bride and Friends
2 Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth! For your love is better than wine,
3 your anointing oils are fragrant, your name is perfume poured out; therefore the maidens love you.
4 Draw me after you, let us make haste. The king has brought me into his chambers. We will exult and rejoice in you; we will extol your love more than wine; rightly do they love you.
5 I am black and beautiful, O daughters of Jerusalem, like the tents of Kedar, like the curtains of Solomon.
6 Do not gaze at me because I am dark, because the sun has gazed on me. My mother’s sons were angry with me; they made me keeper of the vineyards, but my own vineyard I have not kept!
7 Tell me, you whom my soul loves, where you pasture your flock, where you make it lie down at noon;
for why should I be like one who is veiled beside the flocks of your companions?
8 If you do not know, O fairest among women, follow the tracks of the flock, and pasture your kids
beside the shepherds’ tents.
Colloquy of Bridegroom, Friends, and Bride
9 I compare you, my love, to a mare among Pharaoh’s chariots.
10 Your cheeks are comely with ornaments, your neck with strings of jewels.
11 We will make you ornaments of gold, studded with silver.

Proverbs 11:30-12:4
30 The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life, but violence takes lives away.
31 If the righteous are repaid on earth, how much more the wicked and the sinner!
1 Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge, but those who hate to be rebuked are stupid.
2 The good obtain favour from the Lord, but those who devise evil he condemns.
3 No one finds security by wickedness, but the root of the righteous will never be moved.
4 A good wife is the crown of her husband, but she who brings shame is like rottenness in his bones.

Isaiah 52:7-10
7 How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of the messenger who announces peace, who brings good news, who announces salvation, who says to Zion, ‘Your God reigns.’
8 Listen! Your sentinels lift up their voices, together they sing for joy; for in plain sight they see
the return of the Lord to Zion.
9 Break forth together into singing, you ruins of Jerusalem; for the Lord has comforted his people,
he has redeemed Jerusalem.
10 The Lord has bared his holy arm before the eyes of all the nations; and all the ends of the earth shall see the salvation of our God.

Zechariah 2:10-13
10 Sing and rejoice, O daughter Zion! For lo, I will come and dwell in your midst, says the Lord.
11 Many nations shall join themselves to the Lord on that day, and shall be my people; and I will dwell in your midst. And you shall know that the Lord of hosts has sent me to you.
12 The Lord will inherit Judah as his portion in the holy land, and will again choose Jerusalem.
13 Be silent, all people, before the Lord; for he has roused himself from his holy dwelling.

Malachi 3:1-2
The Coming Messenger
1 See, I am sending my messenger to prepare the way before me, and the Lord whom you seek will suddenly come to his temple. The messenger of the covenant in whom you delight—indeed, he is coming, says the Lord of hosts.
2 But who can endure the day of his coming, and who can stand when he appears?
For he is like a refiner’s fire and like fullers’ soap;

2 Corinthians 6:16-7:1
16 What agreement has the temple of God with idols? For we are the temple of the living God; as God said, ‘I will live in them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.
17 Therefore come out from them, and be separate from them, says the Lord, and touch nothing unclean;
then I will welcome you,
18 and I will be your father, and you shall be my sons and daughters, says the Lord Almighty.’
1 Since we have these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from every defilement of body and of spirit, making holiness perfect in the fear of God.

Luke 1:26-38
The Birth of Jesus Foretold
26 In the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent by God to a town in Galilee called Nazareth,
27 to a virgin engaged to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David. The virgin’s name was Mary.
28 And he came to her and said, ‘Greetings, favoured one! The Lord is with you.’
29 But she was much perplexed by his words and pondered what sort of greeting this might be.
30 The angel said to her, ‘Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favour with God.
31 And now, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you will name him Jesus.
32 He will be great, and will be called the Son of the Most High, and the Lord God will give to him the throne of his ancestor David.
33 He will reign over the house of Jacob for ever, and of his kingdom there will be no end.’
34 Mary said to the angel, ‘How can this be, since I am a virgin?’
35 The angel said to her, ‘The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you; therefore the child to be born will be holy; he will be called Son of God.
36 And now, your relative Elizabeth in her old age has also conceived a son; and this is the sixth month for her who was said to be barren.
37 For nothing will be impossible with God.’
38 Then Mary said, ‘Here am I, the servant of the Lord; let it be with me according to your word.’ Then the angel departed from her.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.