March 31 (Daily Scripture)

Deuteronomy 10:1-15
The Second Pair of Tablets
1 At that time the Lord said to me, ‘Carve out two tablets of stone like the former ones, and come up to me on the mountain, and make an ark of wood.
2 I will write on the tablets the words that were on the former tablets, which you smashed, and you shall put them in the ark.’
3 So I made an ark of acacia wood, cut two tablets of stone like the former ones, and went up the mountain with the two tablets in my hand.
4 Then he wrote on the tablets the same words as before, the ten commandments that the Lord had spoken to you on the mountain out of the fire on the day of the assembly; and the Lord gave them to me.
5 So I turned and came down from the mountain, and put the tablets in the ark that I had made; and there they are, as the Lord commanded me.
6 (The Israelites journeyed from Beeroth-bene-jaakan to Moserah. There Aaron died, and there he was buried; his son Eleazar succeeded him as priest.
7 From there they journeyed to Gudgodah, and from Gudgodah to Jotbathah, a land with flowing streams.
8 At that time the Lord set apart the tribe of Levi to carry the ark of the covenant of the Lord, to stand before the Lord to minister to him, and to bless in his name, to this day.
9 Therefore Levi has no allotment or inheritance with his kindred; the Lord is his inheritance, as the Lord your God promised him.)
10 I stayed on the mountain for forty days and forty nights, as I had done the first time. And once again the Lord listened to me. The Lord was unwilling to destroy you.
11 The Lord said to me, ‘Get up, go on your journey at the head of the people, that they may go in and occupy the land that I swore to their ancestors to give them.’
The Essence of the Law
12 So now, O Israel, what does the Lord your God require of you? Only to fear the Lord your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul,
13 and to keep the commandments of the Lord your God and his decrees that I am commanding you today, for your own well-being.
14 Although heaven and the heaven of heavens belong to the Lord your God, the earth with all that is in it,
15 yet the Lord set his heart in love on your ancestors alone and chose you, their descendants after them, out of all the peoples, as it is today.

Job 19:1-29
Job Replies: I Know That My Redeemer Lives
1 Then Job answered:
2 ‘How long will you torment me, and break me in pieces with words?
3 These ten times you have cast reproach upon me; are you not ashamed to wrong me?
4 And even if it is true that I have erred, my error remains with me.
5 If indeed you magnify yourselves against me, and make my humiliation an argument against me,
6 know then that God has put me in the wrong, and closed his net around me.
7 Even when I cry out, “Violence!” I am not answered; I call aloud, but there is no justice.
8 He has walled up my way so that I cannot pass, and he has set darkness upon my paths.
9 He has stripped my glory from me, and taken the crown from my head.
10 He breaks me down on every side, and I am gone, he has uprooted my hope like a tree.
11 He has kindled his wrath against me, and counts me as his adversary.
12 His troops come on together; they have thrown up siege-works against me, and encamp around my tent.
13 ‘He has put my family far from me, and my acquaintances are wholly estranged from me.
14 My relatives and my close friends have failed me;
15 the guests in my house have forgotten me; my serving-girls count me as a stranger; I have become an alien in their eyes.
16 I call to my servant, but he gives me no answer; I must myself plead with him.
17 My breath is repulsive to my wife; I am loathsome to my own family.
18 Even young children despise me; when I rise, they talk against me.
19 All my intimate friends abhor me, and those whom I loved have turned against me.
20 My bones cling to my skin and to my flesh, and I have escaped by the skin of my teeth.
21 Have pity on me, have pity on me, O you my friends, for the hand of God has touched me!
22 Why do you, like God, pursue me, never satisfied with my flesh?
23 ‘O that my words were written down! O that they were inscribed in a book!
24 O that with an iron pen and with lead they were engraved on a rock for ever!
25 For I know that my Redeemer lives, and that at the last he will stand upon the earth;
26 and after my skin has been thus destroyed, then in my flesh I shall see God,
27 whom I shall see on my side, and my eyes shall behold, and not another. My heart faints within me!
28 If you say, “How we will persecute him!” and, “The root of the matter is found in him”;
29 be afraid of the sword, for wrath brings the punishment of the sword, so that you may know there is a judgement.’

Isaiah 45:1-13
Cyrus, God’s Instrument
1 Thus says the Lord to his anointed, to Cyrus, whose right hand I have grasped to subdue nations before him and strip kings of their robes, to open doors before him—and the gates shall not be closed:
2 I will go before you and level the mountains, I will break in pieces the doors of bronze and cut through the bars of iron,
3 I will give you the treasures of darkness and riches hidden in secret places, so that you may know that it is I, the Lord, the God of Israel, who call you by your name.
4 For the sake of my servant Jacob, and Israel my chosen, I call you by your name, I surname you, though you do not know me.
5 I am the Lord, and there is no other; besides me there is no god. I arm you, though you do not know me,
6 so that they may know, from the rising of the sun and from the west, that there is no one besides me;
I am the Lord, and there is no other.
7 I form light and create darkness, I make weal and create woe; I the Lord do all these things.
8 Shower, O heavens, from above, and let the skies rain down righteousness; let the earth open, that salvation may spring up, and let it cause righteousness to sprout up also; I the Lord have created it.
9 Woe to you who strive with your Maker, earthen vessels with the potter! Does the clay say to the one who fashions it, ‘What are you making?’ or ‘Your work has no handles’?
10 Woe to anyone who says to a father, ‘What are you begetting?’ or to a woman, ‘With what are you in labour?’
11 Thus says the Lord, the Holy One of Israel, and its Maker: Will you question me about my children,
or command me concerning the work of my hands?
12 I made the earth, and created humankind upon it; it was my hands that stretched out the heavens,
and I commanded all their host.
13 I have aroused Cyrus in righteousness, and I will make all his paths straight; he shall build my city
and set my exiles free, not for price or reward, says the Lord of hosts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.