March 4 (Daily Scripture)

Wisdom 8:19-9:5
19 As a child I was naturally gifted, and a good soul fell to my lot;
20 or rather, being good, I entered an undefiled body.
21 But I perceived that I would not possess wisdom unless God gave her to me—and it was a mark of insight to know whose gift she was—so I appealed to the Lord and implored him, and with my whole heart I said:
Solomon’s Prayer for Wisdom
1 ‘O God of my ancestors and Lord of mercy, who have made all things by your word,
2 and by your wisdom have formed humankind to have dominion over the creatures you have made,
3 and rule the world in holiness and righteousness, and pronounce judgement in uprightness of soul,
4 give me the wisdom that sits by your throne, and do not reject me from among your servants.
5 For I am your servant, the son of your servant-girl, a man who is weak and short-lived,
with little understanding of judgement and laws;

Isaiah 62:6-9
6 Upon your walls, O Jerusalem, I have posted sentinels; all day and all night they shall never be silent. You who remind the Lord, take no rest,
7 and give him no rest until he establishes Jerusalem and makes it renowned throughout the earth.
8 The Lord has sworn by his right hand and by his mighty arm: I will not again give your grain to be food for your enemies, and foreigners shall not drink the wine for which you have laboured;
9 but those who garner it shall eat it and praise the Lord, and those who gather it shall drink it
in my holy courts.

Romans 8:28-39
28 We know that all things work together for good for those who love God, who are called according to his purpose.
29 For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn within a large family.
30 And those whom he predestined he also called; and those whom he called he also justified; and those whom he justified he also glorified.
God’s Love in Christ Jesus
31 What then are we to say about these things? If God is for us, who is against us?
32 He who did not withhold his own Son, but gave him up for all of us, will he not with him also give us everything else?
33 Who will bring any charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies.
34 Who is to condemn? It is Christ Jesus, who died, yes, who was raised, who is at the right hand of God, who indeed intercedes for us.
35 Who will separate us from the love of Christ? Will hardship, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?
36 As it is written, ‘For your sake we are being killed all day long; we are accounted as sheep to be slaughtered.’
37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.
38 For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers,
39 nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Matthew 10:16-22
Coming Persecutions
16 ‘See, I am sending you out like sheep into the midst of wolves; so be wise as serpents and innocent as doves.
17 Beware of them, for they will hand you over to councils and flog you in their synagogues;
18 and you will be dragged before governors and kings because of me, as a testimony to them and the Gentiles.
19 When they hand you over, do not worry about how you are to speak or what you are to say; for what you are to say will be given to you at that time;
20 for it is not you who speak, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.
21 Brother will betray brother to death, and a father his child, and children will rise against parents and have them put to death;
22 and you will be hated by all because of my name. But the one who endures to the end will be saved.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.