February 17 (Daily Scripture)

2 Timothy 4:9-22
Personal Instructions
9 Do your best to come to me soon,
10 for Demas, in love with this present world, has deserted me and gone to Thessalonica; Crescens has gone to Galatia, Titus to Dalmatia.
11 Only Luke is with me. Get Mark and bring him with you, for he is useful in my ministry.
12 I have sent Tychicus to Ephesus.
13 When you come, bring the cloak that I left with Carpus at Troas, also the books, and above all the parchments.
14 Alexander the coppersmith did me great harm; the Lord will pay him back for his deeds.
15 You also must beware of him, for he strongly opposed our message.
16 At my first defence no one came to my support, but all deserted me. May it not be counted against them!
17 But the Lord stood by me and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it. So I was rescued from the lion’s mouth.
18 The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and save me for his heavenly kingdom. To him be the glory for ever and ever. Amen.
Final Greetings and Benediction
19 Greet Prisca and Aquila, and the household of Onesiphorus.
20 Erastus remained in Corinth; Trophimus I left ill in Miletus.
21 Do your best to come before winter. Eubulus sends greetings to you, as do Pudens and Linus and Claudia and all the brothers and sisters.
22 The Lord be with your spirit. Grace be with you.

John 7:14-23
14 About the middle of the festival Jesus went up into the temple and began to teach.
15 The Jews were astonished at it, saying, ‘How does this man have such learning, when he has never been taught?’
16 Then Jesus answered them, ‘My teaching is not mine but his who sent me.
17 Anyone who resolves to do the will of God will know whether the teaching is from God or whether I am speaking on my own.
18 Those who speak on their own seek their own glory; but the one who seeks the glory of him who sent him is true, and there is nothing false in him.
19 ‘Did not Moses give you the law? Yet none of you keeps the law. Why are you looking for an opportunity to kill me?’
20 The crowd answered, ‘You have a demon! Who is trying to kill you?’
21 Jesus answered them, ‘I performed one work, and all of you are astonished.
22 Moses gave you circumcision (it is, of course, not from Moses, but from the patriarchs), and you circumcise a man on the sabbath.
23 If a man receives circumcision on the sabbath in order that the law of Moses may not be broken, are you angry with me because I healed a man’s whole body on the sabbath?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.