February 15 (Daily Scripture)

2 Timothy 3:16-4:8
16 All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, 17so that everyone who belongs to God may be proficient, equipped for every good work.
1 In the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and in view of his appearing and his kingdom, I solemnly urge you:
2 proclaim the message; be persistent whether the time is favourable or unfavourable; convince, rebuke, and encourage, with the utmost patience in teaching.
3 For the time is coming when people will not put up with sound doctrine, but having itching ears, they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own desires,
4 and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander away to myths.
5 As for you, always be sober, endure suffering, do the work of an evangelist, carry out your ministry fully.
6 As for me, I am already being poured out as a libation, and the time of my departure has come.
7 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.
8 From now on there is reserved for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will give to me on that day, and not only to me but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

John 7:1-13
The Unbelief of Jesus’ Brothers
1 After this Jesus went about in Galilee. He did not wish to go about in Judea because the Jews were looking for an opportunity to kill him.
2 Now the Jewish festival of Booths was near.
3 So his brothers said to him, ‘Leave here and go to Judea so that your disciples also may see the works you are doing;
4 for no one who wants to be widely known acts in secret. If you do these things, show yourself to the world.’
5 (For not even his brothers believed in him.)
6 Jesus said to them, ‘My time has not yet come, but your time is always here.
7 The world cannot hate you, but it hates me because I testify against it that its works are evil.
8 Go to the festival yourselves. I am not going to this festival, for my time has not yet fully come.’
9 After saying this, he remained in Galilee.
Jesus at the Festival of Booths
10 But after his brothers had gone to the festival, then he also went, not publicly but as it were in secret.
11 The Jews were looking for him at the festival and saying, ‘Where is he?’
12 And there was considerable complaining about him among the crowds. While some were saying, ‘He is a good man’, others were saying, ‘No, he is deceiving the crowd.’
13 Yet no one would speak openly about him for fear of the Jews.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.