March 13 (Daily Scripture)

Deuteronomy 9:11-23
[11] And it came to pass at the end of forty days and forty nights, that the LORD gave me the two tables of stone, even the tables of the covenant.
[12] And the LORD said unto me, Arise, get thee down quickly from hence; for thy people which thou hast brought forth out of Egypt have corrupted themselves; they are quickly turned aside out of the way which I commanded them; they have made them a molten image.
[13] Furthermore the LORD spake unto me, saying, I have seen this people, and, behold, it is a stiffnecked people:
[14] Let me alone, that I may destroy them, and blot out their name from under heaven: and I will make of thee a nation mightier and greater than they.
[15] So I turned and came down from the mount, and the mount burned with fire: and the two tables of the covenant were in my two hands.
[16] And I looked, and, behold, ye had sinned against the LORD your God, and had made you a molten calf: ye had turned aside quickly out of the way which the LORD had commanded you.
[17] And I took the two tables, and cast them out of my two hands, and brake them before your eyes.
[18] And I fell down before the LORD, as at the first, forty days and forty nights: I did neither eat bread, nor drink water, because of all your sins which ye sinned, in doing wickedly in the sight of the LORD, to provoke him to anger.
[19] For I was afraid of the anger and hot displeasure, wherewith the LORD was wroth against you to destroy you. But the LORD hearkened unto me at that time also.
[20] And the LORD was very angry with Aaron to have destroyed him: and I prayed for Aaron also the same time.
[21] And I took your sin, the calf which ye had made, and burnt it with fire, and stamped it, and ground it very small, even until it was as small as dust: and I cast the dust thereof into the brook that descended out of the mount.
[22] And at Taberah, and at Massah, and at Kibroth-hattaavah, ye provoked the LORD to wrath.
[23] Likewise when the LORD sent you from Kadesh-barnea, saying, Go up and possess the land which I have given you; then ye rebelled against the commandment of the LORD your God, and ye believed him not, nor hearkened to his voice.

Job 16:1-17:16
[1] Then Job answered and said,
[2] I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all.
[3] Shall vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest?
[4] I also could speak as ye do: if your soul were in my soul’s stead, I could heap up words against you, and shake mine head at you.
[5] But I would strengthen you with my mouth, and the moving of my lips should asswage your grief.
[6] Though I speak, my grief is not asswaged: and though I forbear, what am I eased?
[7] But now he hath made me weary: thou hast made desolate all my company.
[8] And thou hast filled me with wrinkles, which is a witness against me: and my leanness rising up in me beareth witness to my face.
[9] He teareth me in his wrath, who hateth me: he gnasheth upon me with his teeth; mine enemy sharpeneth his eyes upon me.
[10] They have gaped upon me with their mouth; they have smitten me upon the cheek reproachfully; they have gathered themselves together against me.
[11] God hath delivered me to the ungodly, and turned me over into the hands of the wicked.
[12] I was at ease, but he hath broken me asunder: he hath also taken me by my neck, and shaken me to pieces, and set me up for his mark.
[13] His archers compass me round about, he cleaveth my reins asunder, and doth not spare; he poureth out my gall upon the ground.
[14] He breaketh me with breach upon breach, he runneth upon me like a giant.
[15] I have sewed sackcloth upon my skin, and defiled my horn in the dust.
[16] My face is foul with weeping, and my eyelids is the shadow of death;
[17] Not for any injustice in mine hands: also my prayer is pure.
[18] O earth, cover not thou my blood, and let my cry have no place.
[19] Also now, behold, my witness is in heaven, and my record is on high.
[20] My friends scorn me: but mine eye poureth out tears unto God.
[21] O that one might plead for a man with God, as a man pleadeth for his neighbour!
[22] When a few years are come, then I shall go the way whence I shall not return.
[1] My breath is corrupt, my days are extinct, the graves are ready for me.
[2] Are there not mockers with me? and doth not mine eye continue in their provocation?
[3] Lay down now, put me in a surety with thee; who is he that will strike hands with me?
[4] For thou hast hid their heart from understanding: therefore shalt thou not exalt them.
[5] He that speaketh flattery to his friends, even the eyes of his children shall fail.
[6] He hath made me also a byword of the people; and aforetime I was as a tabret.
[7] Mine eye also is dim by reason of sorrow, and all my members are as a shadow.
[8] Upright men shall be astonied at this, and the innocent shall stir up himself against the hypocrite.
[9] The righteous also shall hold on his way, and he that hath clean hands shall be stronger and stronger.
[10] But as for you all, do ye return, and come now: for I cannot find one wise man among you.
[11] My days are past, my purposes are broken off, even the thoughts of my heart.
[12] They change the night into day: the light is short because of darkness.
[13] If I wait, the grave is mine house: I have made my bed in the darkness.
[14] I have said to corruption, Thou art my father: to the worm, Thou are my mother, and my sister.
[15] And where is now my hope? as for my hope, who shall see it?
[16] They shall go down to the bars of the pit, when our rest together is in the dust.

Isaiah 43:22-44:8
[22] But thou hast not called upon me, O Jacob; but thou hast been weary of me, O Israel.
[23] Thou hast not brought me the small cattle of thy burnt offerings; neither hast thou honoured me with thy sacrifices. I have not caused thee to serve with an offering, nor wearied thee with incense.
[24] Thou hast bought me no sweet cane with money, neither hast thou filled me with the fat of thy sacrifices: but thou hast made me to serve with thy sins, thou hast wearied me with thine iniquities.
[25] I, even I, am he that blotteth out thy transgressions for mine own sake, and will not remember thy sins.
[26] Put me in remembrance: let us plead together: declare thou, that thou mayest be justified.
[27] Thy first father hath sinned, and thy teachers have transgressed against me.
[28] Therefore I have profaned the princes of the sanctuary, and have given Jacob to the curse, and Israel to reproaches.
[1] Yet now hear, O Jacob my servant; and Israel, whom I have chosen:
[2] Thus saith the LORD that made thee, and formed thee from the womb, which will help thee; Fear not, O Jacob, my servant; and thou, Jesurun, whom I have chosen.
[3] For I will pour water upon him that is thirsty, and floods upon the dry ground: I will pour my spirit upon thy seed, and my blessing upon thine offspring:
[4] And they shall spring up as among the grass, as willows by the water courses.
[5] One shall say, I am the LORD’s; and another shall call himself by the name of Jacob; and another shall subscribe with his hand unto the LORD, and surname himself by the name of Israel.
[6] Thus saith the LORD the King of Israel, and his redeemer the LORD of hosts; I am the first, and I am the last; and beside me there is no God.
[7] And who, as I, shall call, and shall declare it, and set it in order for me, since I appointed the ancient people? and the things that are coming, and shall come, let them shew unto them.
[8] Fear ye not, neither be afraid: have not I told thee from that time, and have declared it? ye are even my witnesses. Is there a God beside me? yea, there is no God; I know not any.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.